Announcing the Winners of The Peregrine Prize 2018!

Oxford Writers' HouseNews2018SeptemberAnnouncing the Winners of The Peregrine Prize 2018!

To pitch an article, please log in/create account

Announcing the Winners of The Peregrine Prize 2018!

Here at Oxford Writers' House, we were absolutely delighted with the quality of this year's Peregrine Prize submissions. We were blown away by our entrants’ talent for narrative, use of language and incredible imaginations.  We are proud to announce the following winners:

Commendation for Excellence in Creative Writing 2018:

Sammy Silver

Phoebe Haywood

Isabella Taylor

Lydia Mapledoram

Larni Upton-Shead

Katherine Brooks

Phoebe Edwards

Kaylan Parekh

Ranveer Ramdeehul

Kirsty McIntyre

Rosa Thompson

Nicholas McNab

Leonie Freeden

Carrie Torres

Imogen Duffen

Frank Bowden

Ethan Leung

Nora Martin

Rohan Chang Kar

Oscar Luckett

Flora Gilman

Rosie Went

Ava Lopez-Welsch

Alexander Brain

Jack Marshall

Pranit Narain

Zoe Marshall

Ihinosen Adrian Onobhayedo

Josias Santoso

David Naylor

Eva Skipper

Lily Small


Hatchling (8-11) Overall Winners 2018

Highly Commended:

Bhavani Ranasinghe for 'The Way to Valhalla'

Alex Diosi for 'The Darkness Dimension'

3rd Place: Dennis Zabolotnyy for 'The Adventures of King Cookie'

2nd Place: Saskia Weiss for 'Cloud City'

1st Place: Isabella Stevens for 'The Package of Empathy'


Nestling (12-15) Winners 2018

Highly Commended:

Flossie Bourne for 'Peril at Newton Arlosh'

Isabella Winnifrith for 'The Island'

3rd Place: Lily Gould for 'Hooks and Hangers'

2nd Place: Georgie Lewis for 'I Still Remember'

1st Place: Hebe Robertson for 'Utopia'


Fledgling (16-18) Winners 2018

Highly Commended:

Val Chembtseva for her story 'The Restless Realm of Sigmund Freud'

Sarah Dalton for her story 'Hope'

3rd Place: Georgia Paxton-Doggett for her story 'Birthing Partner'

2nd Place: Nicole Garcia-Hernandez for her story 'The Execution of Matteo'

1st Place and Oxford City Young Writer of the Year 2018: Louisa Rimmer for her story 'Memory Like Water'

We will be publishing a selection of the winning stories over the course of the year so stay tuned for some of the best new writing from Oxfordshire!

Mariah Whelan

Mariah Whelan

Mariah is a poet and PhD researcher from Oxford. She is currently based in the Centre for New Writing at The University of Manchester where she researches trauma and memory in Irish fiction and is writing a second collection of poetry. Her work has been widely published in journals and anthologies and been shortlisted for the Melita Hume Prize, The Bridport Prize and won the AM Heath Prize. Her first collection City of Rivers is forthcoming from Eyewear Publishing in 2019. You can follow Mariah on twitter @MWhelanWriter or on her website



This site uses cookies! We set cookies so you can manage your account and navigate the site. To accept cookies, just keep browsing. Click here to find out more.